June 5, 2019

Sacks and Lambros Win Democratic Primary For Princeton Council

By Donald Gilpin

Mia Sacks and Michelle Pirone Lambros earned the highest number of votes in Tuesday’s primary election, and will represent the Democrats in the November contest for two Princeton Council seats. Sacks won 1,771 votes, while Lambros earned 1,445, and the incumbent Tim Quinn finished third with 1,280 votes. The results are unofficial, as they do not include provisional ballots.

Adam Bierman will run as an Independent in the November 5 election against Sacks and Lambros. There are no Republicans in the election for Council this year. Jenny Crumiller will step down at the end of the year, and her seat and Quinn’s will be up for grabs in the general election.

Running unopposed in the Democratic Primary for two seats, two-year terms, in the 16th Legislative District of the New Jersey General Assembly, incumbents Andrew Zwicker and Roy Freiman earned spots on the ballot in November, while Republicans chose Mark Caliguire and Christine Madrid over third place finisher Roger Forest Locandro.

In other local primary election results, incumbent Brian M. Hughes, running unopposed in the race for Mercer County executive, will represent the Democrats, while Lishian “Lisa” Wu, also unopposed in her primary, will be the Republican candidate this fall.

Incumbent Democrats Andrew Koontz and Nina D. Melker ran unopposed for the nomination to two open Board of Chosen Freeholders seats, and will run without opposition again in the November election.

Sacks has served on the Planning Board and the Environmental Commission and has been active in numerous other local organizations. She has also worked at the senior level in the nonprofit sector in New York City and abroad.

Lambros, whose campaign emphasized bringing ”a new perspective and fresh ideas “ to Council, has built and owned a number of small businesses and has served on the Princeton Zoning Board, the Princeton Merchants’ Association Board, and the Princeton Community Democratic Organization Board.