November 15, 2017

Murphy’s Transition Team Has Local Representation Including Council Member

By Anne Levin

Princeton Council member Heather Howard has been named to Governor-elect Phil Murphy’s transition team. Howard is among seven who will serve on the Healthcare committee. Also named is Linda Schwimmer, a member of Princeton’s Board of Health.

Murphy announced his full slate of transition committees on Monday. “Our task is simple: get to work setting the blueprint to strengthen our economy and make it fair again,” said Transition 2018 Executive Director Jose Lozano in a press release. “The depth and breadth of experience in this group is stunning. Let there be no doubt: New Jersey faces massive obstacles ahead. But together, with Governor-elect Murphy and the entire Transition 2018 team, we’ll tackle those problems head-on and ensure the Murphy administration hits the ground running in January.”

Howard, who is a lecturer at Princeton University’s Woodrow Wilson School and director of its State Health and Values Strategies, served in the administration of former governor John Corzine. She was a member of Princeton’s Borough Council before the 2013 consolidation, and has served on the combined governing body ever since. She was associate director of the Domestic Policy Council during the administration of former president Bill Clinton.

Though the committee has yet to meet, Howard said in an email that she is looking forward to getting involved with state health care policy. “I’m honored to be part of such a strong and diverse group of people helping with the transition,” she wrote Tuesday. “Governor-elect Murphy has an ambitious and progressive agenda, and I hope we can help make sure the new administration hits the ground running. Health care spending is a significant part of the state budget and health care policy affects every New Jerseyan — we will be helping to set an agenda to make the state healthier and the system fairer.”

Murphy’s transition team also includes David Crane, former president and CEO of NRG Energy, and John S. Watson Jr., vice president of D&R Greenway Land Trust, on the Environment and Energy committee; Mercer County Community College president Jianping Wang on the Education, Access, and Opportunity committee; and New Jersey Future Executive Director Peter Kasabach and Hoboken Mayor Dawn Zimmer on the Urban and Regional Growth committee.