November 9, 2016

Dems, Lempert, Clinton Dominate Local Vote


Liz Lempert

Princeton Mayor Liz Lempert was elected to a second four-year term in Tuesday’s race over Republican challenger Peter Marks. Ms. Lempert, a Democrat, earned 7529 votes, while Mr. Marks got 2709, according to unofficial results at press time.

In addition, voters elected Democratic Councilwoman Jenny Crumiller and newcomer Tim Quinn, also a Democrat, to two Council seats. Ms. Crumiller and Mr. Quinn, who were unopposed, will serve three-year terms.

In the national election, Princeton voters cast 8562 ballots in favor of Democratic candidate Hillary Clinton, 1579 for Republican Donald Trump, 262 for Libertarian Gary Johnson and 158 for Jill Stein of the Green Party.

Ms. Crumiller was on Princeton Borough Council before being elected to Princeton Council after the 2013 consolidation, which she supported. She has served on the town’s planning board, the information technology committee, the ordinance harmonization committee, the traffic and transportation committee, and the public works committee. She is a 25-year resident of Princeton.

Mr. Quinn, also a Princeton resident for 25 years, served two terms on Princeton’s school board, including one as president. He is the communications director for Princeton Public Library. Mr. Quinn was an editor at the Trenton Times for several years before joining the library’s staff in 2000.

Ms. Lempert served on the Township Committee before being elected to the office of mayor of consolidated Princeton in 2013.

Elected to the three available seats on School Board for Princeton Public Schools were Debbie BronfeldКwith 4753 votes, Gregory Stankiewicz with 3689 votes, and William Hare with 3454 votes. Alex Martin received 3103Кvotes in his unsuccessful bid for a School Board seat.

The three elected newcomers will replace outgoing board members Molly Chrein, Tom Hagedorn, and current board president Andrea Spalla, who will be stepping down when their terms expire at the end of the year.