Web Edition

lead stories
other news
photo gallery




chess forum
town talk


press releases


last week's issue

real estate
classified ads


Jan C. Lee

M.J. Sagan

Courteney Odening

André Maman

Anthony Grafton

George Miller

Jan C. Lee, an entering freshman at Colby College, recently participated in a four-day canoeing and camping orientation trip through the Belgrade Lakes in central Maine with other students. A graduate of Princeton High School, Mr. Lee is the son of Tung-Ching and Yvonne Lee of Princeton.

M.J. Sagan was recently named to Who's Who in America for 2004, for her work in architecture. She is the vice president of Anderson Architects in New York City. Under her direction, Anderson Architects completed the corporate headquarters of Abercrombie & Fitch, a 300-acre office campus and distribution center in Columbus, Ohio. Among the many awards the project received are the Business Week/Architectural Record Good Design is Good Business award, and the AlA New York Chapter 2003 Excellence in Design award.

Ms. Sagan lives in Princeton with her husband Craig Haft and their three children, who attend Princeton regional schools. Last year, she worked with Joan West, art teacher at Community Park School, in a project, "Mapping Princeton." For this project, each grade and class documented the architecture in specific areas of the town through drawing, photography, and words. The project is currently on view at the Princeton Public Library.

Courtney Odening, the daughter of Pamela and Gerald Odening of Library Place, recently began studies as a first-year student at Hamilton College. A graduate of Pennington School, she joins a class of 467 at the college, selected from a pool of 4,405 applicants.

Princeton University Professor emeritus André Maman has been chosen to receive one of the highest distinctions the French government can bestow.

In recognition of his exemplary service to France, the president of the French Senate conferred upon him the title of Commandeur de la Légion d'Honneur at a September 3 ceremony in Paris.

Prof. Maman joined the faculty in Princeton's Department of Romance Languages and Literatures in 1958. He taught French language and civilization courses that students considered rites of passage in their discovery of France. While a faculty member, he also served as a representative of French citizens living abroad. He was later elected a French senator and retired from Princeton in 1993.

Prof. Maman, who has completed his term as senator, remains active in promoting French culture throughout the world. He divides his time between Princeton and Paris.

Princeton University Historian Anthony Grafton has been elected to a three-year term in the senate of the Phi Beta Kappa Society.

Founded in 1776, Phi Beta Kappa is the nation's oldest and largest academic honor society, with chapters at 270 colleges and universities and more than half a million members.

Prof. Grafton is the Henry Putnam University Professor of History and chair of the Council of the Humanities at Princeton. He serves on the editorial board of The American Scholar, an award-winning quarterly published by the Phi Beta Kappa Society, and he has participated in the society's innovative Visiting Scholar Program.

Princeton University Professor emeritus George Miller, a pioneer in cognitive science, was presented with the American Psychological Association's 2003 Outstanding Lifetime Contribution to Psychology Award.

Dr. Miller is the James S. McDonnell Distinguished University Professor of Psychology Emeritus. An APA president in 1969, he has been an innovator in the study of language and cognition, helping to establish psycholinguistics as an independent field of research in psychology.

He was a co-founder of the Harvard Center for Cognitive Studies in 1960 and helped to create the Princeton Cognitive Science Laboratory in 1986. His work in psycholinguistic theories led him to become the principal investigator in the development of WordNet, an online lexical database based at Princeton.

Dr. Miller received the National Medal of Science in 1991, the highest scientific honor awarded by the United States.


Go to menubar.

Website Design by Kiyomi Camp