Town Topics — Princeton's Weekly Community Newspaper Since 1946.
Vol. LXV, No. 23
Wednesday, June 8, 2011
Coldwell Banker Princeton Office

Prudential Fox and Roach, Realtors

Gloria Nilson GMAC Real Estate

Henderson Sotheby's International Realty

N.T. Callaway Princeton Office

Stockton Real Estate, LLC

Weichert, Realtors

Advertise in Town Topics

Iris Interiors

Advertise in Town Topics

Weather Forecast

Moore, Jachera Win Borough Primary

Anne Levin

Ellen Gilbert

In the only contested municipal race in Princeton, Yina Moore won the Borough’s nomination for mayor in the Democratic Primary on Tuesday. Ms. Moore, who received 301 votes and is a member of the Planning Board, will run as the candidate in the November general election. David Goldfarb, a longtime Borough Council member, garnered 219 votes. Neither candidate had gathered enough support from the Princeton Community Democratic Organization for an endorsement.

Meanwhile, through a write-in campaign, Republican Jill Jachera has been selected to run for mayor against Ms. Moore. Fourteen votes by Princeton Borough registered Republicans are needed to secure the nomination; Ms. Jachera received 73, as well as 14 by Democrats. Ms. Jachera’s nomination marks the first time in more than 10 years that a Republican will challenge the Democratic Borough candidate in the November election.

Running unopposed for Borough Council was Democratic incumbent Barbara Trelstad, who received 434 votes. Also running unopposed was newcomer Heather Howard, who earned 449 votes. Ms. Howard, also a Democrat, will run to fill the spot being vacated by Mr. Goldfarb. On the Republican side, Peter Marks and Dudley Sipprelle, also unopposed, got 102 and 103 votes, respectively.

Township Results

With each candidate in the Township running unopposed, the outcome of those contests was never in doubt. Current Township Committee members Bernard (“Bernie”) Miller and G. Susan (“Sue”) Nemeth were chosen by Democrats to run again in November, receiving 373 and 364 votes, respectively. Republican candidates Geoff Aton and Mark Scheibner got the go-ahead to run against Mr. Miller and Ms. Nemeth with, with 133 and 126 votes.

Current County Executive, Democrat Brian M. Hughes, will defend his job against Republican challenger Jonathan C. Savage, and Democrats Lucylle R.S. Walter and John A Cimino will face-off against Republicans Z. Dion Clark and David G. Maher for two seats on the Board of Chosen Freeholders. Democrat Samuel T. Frisby, Sr. will run against Republican James V. Castelize, III to fill an unexpired term on the Board.

A total of 571 voted in the Borough, while 509 voted in the Township.

As of press time, the vote tallies are unofficial.

Return to Top | Go to Next Story

Town Topics® may be purchased on Wednesday mornings at the following locations: Princeton — McCaffrey’s, Cox’s, Kiosk (Palmer Square), Krauszer’s (State Road), Olives, Speedy Mart (State Road), Wawa (University Place); Hopewell — Village Express; Rocky Hill — Wawa (Route 518); Pennington — Pennington Market.
Copyright© Town Topics®, Inc. 2011.